Time to listen to the children

I was at a youth group Sunday, just observing as I’m looking to possibly do a talk/Q & A with them. Afterwards we were chatting about the subject of homosexuality. Being teenagers, they had no issues with voicing their opinion and me being me, had no issues tackling it head on. Their questions were more around the churches stance on the subject and how they can be against same sex marriage. One of them then, out of nowhere came out with “The church are like the Nazi’s!

Took me aback somewhat. It wasn’t what she said (thought that did surprise me) it was the force with which she said it.  I’m not sure if she understood the power of what she said, but I got the point. The church, in her eyes, was a repressive self serving regime; not things you would use to describe Christ. Christ had some things to say about children;

He took a little child whom he placed among them. Taking the child in his arms, he said to them, “Whoever welcomes one of these little children in my name welcomes me; and whoever welcomes me does not welcome me but the one who sent me (Mark 9:36-38)

Perhaps it’s time to listen to children (and teenagers) instead of just telling them what we think they should know.

First published 19th March 2013

Leave a Reply

